1. Home
  2. Advanced Special Functions
  3. Advanced Special Functions: Delete a Part With All Its History

Advanced Special Functions: Delete a Part With All Its History

Delete a Part With All Its History

Delete a Part With All Its History

A special Part deletion function is provided with this window. Drag a part from the ScratchPad to select and analyse its relationships.

After checking references in the system to the selected part, the number of references will be shown. A Part can not be deleted if it is used in Multi-stock locations, BoM, Production Plan, Process Route, Purchase, Sales or Work Orders, or Shortages files. Additionally, if the part has any non-zero quantities showing, it can not be deleted. However, Purchase Parts, Product serial number, Tracking, Engineering data, PO, SO, Inventory or WO history, Frozen Stocktake or MRP Results for the part can all be deleted, after which the Part itself will be deleted. This function can enable a Manager to see the extent of references to a part.

Customisation CUSTOM CAPABILITY: If you have site-specific custom database tables that relate to parts, you can include these relationships in the cCustomDataChanges code class. Then these tables will be included and you can optionally have rows related to the part deleted as well as standard ones.

Field

Description

Part Number

Parts Master. Part number unique identifier. {PTMFILE.PTMPTNO char 18}

Description

Parts Master. Part description. {PTMFILE.PTMDESC char 30}

File Relationship Listing

The list shows all files that reference the part. Any marked Unapproved will prevent deletion. Unapproved items must be deleted within normal maintenance or processing.

Total Record References

The total number of related records to the part throughout the system.

Normal Interactive

Choose this option to interactively use the window part by part.

Automatic Delete from ScratchPad Selection

With this choice, if you drag-and-drop from the ScratchPad all selected parts are checked for allowable deletion and deleted automatically without user confirmation.

Tip TIP: Using this capability you can en-mass clean out old parts that are not needed on the system. You can do this particularly neatly by first populating the ScratchPad from the Process — Inventory History — Print Movement Reports Part Last Movement report type. Then in the Options window, select the Load ScratchPad if date before checkbox and enter the date before which you consider parts obsolete. You can then use the contents of the ScratchPad to process the mass-delete.

Auto delete BoM and Route when otherwise deletable

Check to automatically delete the BoM and Route when otherwise deletable.

Button

Action

Delete Part

To delete the part and all non-critically related records.

Compiled in Program Version 5.10. Help data last modified 23 Feb 2016 09:43:00.00. Class wSpecialPartDelete last modified 10 Oct 2017 11:48:51.

Updated on May 27, 2020

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Leave a Comment